MTV Cribs: Welcome to My Studio (Apartment)

Mi casa es su casa.

Hahaha.

Hi, babes.

I absolutely LOVE my studio apartment. I moved here about a few months ago after deciding it was time for me to have my own place. I never wanted to live alone; even though I don’t like being around people ALL the time, even my friends (love y’all, mean it), I could not imagine living alone and being okay with my very own presence.

 

It’s a lot different than having a roommate, let me tell you.

giphy[1]

For one, it has really helped me learn more about myself. I’ve learned small but fun facts about myself like, I can’t go to sleep unless my place is clean, and that I like to wash dishes right after I use them. I’ve learned that I can be a little OCD when it comes to decorating—I have a visual idea in my head and I carry it out with literally NO patience. My mom has always told me to look at several options before choosing furniture or decorations, because you may find a better option somewhere else.

giphy[1]

That’s not me.

 

If I find something I like or had something in mind, AND the price is decent, then I’m buying it.

NOTE: However, it’s good to shop at stores like TJ Maxx, Hobby Lobby, Rooms To Go, or Goodwill to find better deals. A lot of these places have the same items with different prices—which just means I return something if I find it for a better price somewhere else.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
I call this my Creative Box:) This is where I put all of my crafts and poem rough drafts and paper prints to put my poems on!
Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
This is my favorite journal, but I NEVER write in it. It’s too pretty to write in. Maybe one day, I’ll break it in. Aren’t those prints amazing, though?

Paper Prints: I get these from Hobby Lobby. It adds personality to my poems! Plus, they are SO cheap!

Sunflower Scrapbook Print, Hobby Lobby – $0.69

Here’s an example of one of the prints I’ve used with a poem: My Poem: Blooming

I’ve also found that I really really enjoy decorating and I’m actually really good at it. My friends love coming over to visit (probs because I feed them).

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Christine and I during a mini photoshoot! This was when I had the idea to put Ghiradelli Chocolate Caramels in every picture! You’ll see why, later:)

My studio feels like I live in the heart of Manhattan without the Manhattan prices. Plus, I’ve added my own personal touch of BoHo Modern to the place, so it’s super cozy.

 

Does anyone have like an idea for their future house/apartment that’s different than the idea you have for your place now? I love my room for me RIGHT NOW. It’s perfect for a young, thriving individual who has just been thrown into real life adulting. But when I’m living with my fiancé (he’s my boyfriend right now, that was not a subtle message that he’s proposed yet), I have a different idea for our place. Same thing for when I’m married with kids.

giphy[1]

Does anyone daydream about stuff like that? Or am I just weird?

 

Anyways, I wanted to show you some highlights of my place. I really don’t think pictures do this place any justice, but it will have to do.

 

Plus, I will let you know where I’ve gotten every one of the items I show to you!

 

Hello, babes, and welcome to my crib!!

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset
Let’s Start With My Bed! Featuring the book I’m currently reading.

I LOVE TIGERS!

This canvas is about 2 feet long. I tried to get it framed, but I went by JoAnn Fabrics, and they told me it was going to cost 300 DOLLARS to frame and put a no-glare glass casing over it (it was the same price without the glass casing, too!). So I just decided to tape it to the wall with clear tape:)

Tiger Eye Art Print, Fine Art America – $70

I mixed and matched my bed spread, pillows, and sheets from various places, because I wanted a specific look that was unique. I also wanted my World Pillow to be the accent piece. It’s a little darker than in the picture, but the sunlight from the windows makes it look lighter!

Vintage 1892 World Map Pillow, Society6 – $30

The candle holders are so pretty at night when I decide to light candles! They remind me of the lotus shaped baskets with lights they let loose into the sky in Thailand every year!

Bohemian Constellation Lanterns, At Home Furniture – $10 each

Dracaena Plant (Which Means Female Dragon – so I named her Khaleesi), Publix –  $8

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

On the foot of my bed, I decided to use my dresser as the foot board to save room (it is a studio apartment).

On my dresser, I like to heat incense on top of my salt rock and also light this candle to give my room an earthy aroma.

Himalayan Salt Rock Lamp (My brother bought it for me, but I found a link to one!), Amazon – $30

Rain Lily Scented Candle, Village Candle – $9

My dad bought this gorgeous Tiger Vase inside this Chinese box from China (he works in China!) The woman who designed it used a HAIR FOLLICLE inside of the vase to draw the tiger design. TALENT.

3A7AB21C-79CC-492B-A2B1-B7563662DF0BOn the other side of the dresser are some old travel magazines and Vogue magazines given to me by one of my friends.

One of my friends also gave me this World Globe to match my room.

I just realized once again how awesome my friends are. 

World Globe (I found this link), World Market -$29

Also, I took that gold glitter ball on the right from a music festival because it matched my room:)

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset
My favorite corner:)

I love reading!!! Has anyone read any good books, lately?

Here are some that I’m reading now.

IMG_6531
I like hard copies of books. I don’t know how anyone uses a Kindle or reads eBooks!

Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly, Amazon – $13

The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls, Barnes and Noble – $10

Onward: How Starbucks Fought for its Life without Losing its Soul by Howard Schultz (I was actually AT Starbucks HQ the day he left Starbucks), Amazon – $12

The Happiness Hypothesis by Jonathan Haidt, Amazon – $11

Paris by Edward Rutherford, Amazon – $20

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

So, when I mentioned the Ghiradelli Chocolate Caramels earlier…

These are my favorite chocolates ever, and I wanted them to be a staple in all of my pictures to give them character. But, I quickly ended that idea because I felt like it was conflicting with a lot of other creative ideas I had for my pictures.

Plus, my boyfriend said it was like I was advertising them too much in every picture.

Either way, I keep them in my apartment sometimes for my friends to eat whenever they want!

Ghiradelli Caramel Chocolate Squares, Ghiradelli -$29 for a bag

Gardenia Rose Candle, TJ Maxx – $5

The rose wallet was a birthday gift from a friend, and I love the way it looks on my TV stand!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Polaroid Camera and a Betsey Johnson Phone Charger! Two Must Needs:)

My old roommate gave me this Tiffany and Co box with a wine glass for Christmas! So sweet!

HOW CUTE IS THAT BETSEY JOHNSON LIPSTICK PORTABLE CHARGER???

When you close the charger, it looks exactly like actual lipstick! OMG, I loveeeee it. And it has power for dayssssss.

Betsey Johnson Lipstick Portable Charger, Amazon – $45

Polaroid Camera (a gift from my boyfriend!), Urban Outfitters – $60

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

I grew up with brothers, and the one thing I LOVED to play was video games. When I wasn’t playing by myself with my Barbies, I would join them in playing video games.

My boyfriend asked my brother what my favorite games were growing up and got them for me! Isn’t he the absolute greatest?

I have not had a throwback party with friends to play Mario Party 7 together, but it WILL happen.

You can find GameCube games for cheap on eBay, so I won’t put the prices I’m seeing on Amazon (100 dollars…really?)

Games: Harvest Moon, Pikmin 3, Chi-Bi Robo, Mario Kart, Mario Party 7 (basically all of the “cute” video games)

FF42F584-89E2-49CC-B916-E2EB12C0C84E

My freshman year of college, I played basketball.

One of my amazing teammates drew this tiger for me AND framed it on my birthday! (She is such an amazing artist, I am so jealous!)

Unfortunately, I cracked the corner when I was unpacking from my most recent move:/

A for Alex (or any A name!) Coasters, At Home Furniture – $7

Love my window sills:) Here is my little cactus, Carlos (also from Publix), He was so small when I first got him! May need to re-pot him so he can grow!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Peep babe and I in the picture frame:)

F1A95184-57F5-4F50-8EF1-403F9D13E47D

Where I like to write in the mornings after work:)

Thick Cheetah Blanket (Stolen From My Parent’s Place), Amazon – $40

Time to move on to my kitchen area!

Where I made these YUMMY HOMEMADE CINNAMON ROLLS!

IMG_5837

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
That sign lights up above the oven!

Mini Cinema Light Box, Urban Outfitters – $29

Banana Hanger, Bed Bath and Beyond – $10

369C7C9F-C6ED-4233-BBD8-1EBF5887E37A.JPG

These make my cabinets look so much more organized. One day, I want my ENTIRE cabinet to look like this, even my spices!

Large Food Storage Containers, Walmart – $9

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

I love my Game of Thrones cup! 🙂 Sometimes, I drink coffee out of it, but most of the time, it’s smoothies or water (don’t worry, I have other cups for my coffee!)

I Drink and I Know Things GoT Tervis, Bed Bath and Beyond – $22

57ED67B8-C5ED-40F0-B47F-9B75E510F40D
My fridge looks full because I cook more than I go out to eat:) I just love cooking!

Now, on to my bathroom! (my closet has clothes all over the place, no sneak peek today!)

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I love to keep my bathroom clean, but it’s my least favorite area to decorate. So, I try to make it quick and simple with little decorations.

I got the shower curtains and rugs from Walmart. I thought it was bright and cheery and wanted something colorful but simple to wake me up for my daily morning showers.

Global Elephant Shower Curtain, Walmart – $18

Turquoise Memory Foam Bath Mats, Walmart

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Faux Potted Plant, At Home Furniture – $12

Bronze Double-Sided Handheld Mirror, Best Buy – $36

Turquoise Bathroom Hand Towel (came in a multi-size towel set), Walmart – $12

YES, BABES, I DO BRUSH MY TEETH EVERY DAY.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
My two Go-Tos every day. Rosewater on the face every morning for a dewy look (and it smells SO good!) and Dry Spray Deodorant after showering
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Like I said, I like simplicity. Also, say hello to Jesus.

My dad got this Christ the Redeemer replica when he was in Brazil (did you know I was almost raised there when I was younger?)

I took it and put it in my bathroom:)

 

Well, you’ve now seen all of the parts of my studio apartment worth showing:) Maybe some day, I’ll show you what’s in my closet;)

Thanks for reading, babes, and as always, don’t forget to subscribe!

Just head over to the right side of your screen and type in your email to get notifications emailed right to your inbox every time I post! 🙂

Be sure to follow me on Instagram for some pictures I may never upload on here:)

Instagram: @alex_andrathegreat

IMG_6763.JPG

Love always, Alex McKay<3

9 thoughts on “MTV Cribs: Welcome to My Studio (Apartment)”

  1. Love The Glass Castle book!!!! Hope you enjoy it too! Your crib is decorated so cute! We have the mini light thingy at work that we use for birthdays/holidays and celebrations. So fun to change it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I love that book as well! 💕 have you seen the movie? I always have a hard time watching movies of really good books because it’s never the same!
      I looooove the light box! You’re right, it’s so much fun to change it. Thanks for reading ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Gosh you’re livin the dream life girl!It’s my dream to move out into my dream country!I love all the décor, especially the creative box!It’s a great idea.Plus you look beautiful in all these pictures!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OH MY GOD CAN WE BE BEST FRIENDS PLS? Your flat is quite literally my dream place. I really want a quirky lil studio flat of my own one day and I LOVE bohemian decor so all your artsy additions are just up my street! Love your place, in case you couldn’t tell 🙂 xx

    Like

Leave a comment